Dayong Gao Elected ISBER President

Congratulations to former Society president (2016-2019), Prof. Dayong Gao on his appointment to President-Elect of ISBER! 

Prof. Dayong Gao is the ORIGINCELL Endowed Professor of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Director of the Center for Cryo-Biomedical Engineering and Artificial Organs, the University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA. Prior to joining the University of Washington in 2004, he was the Baxter Healthcare Corp Chair of Engineering and the Alumni Professor of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, the University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, USA.  

Prof. Gao is one of the internationally prominent scientists, educators, and leaders in Cryobiology, Cryo-Biomedical Engineering, and Artificial Organs-Bio-Instruments. He has published over 500 peer-reviewed research articles (including over 250 full journal papers) and over 40 scientific book chapters. He has trained and supervised over 200 graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and young visiting professors/investigators. He was the President of the Society for Cryobiology, and served as  a Chairman of the 1996 Annual Meeting of the Society for Cryobiology (CRYO-1996), the 2004 World Conference of  Cryobiology and Cryo-medicine (CRYO-2004), and the 2017 International Conference of Cryobiology and Biobanking (CRYO-2017), respectively. He was elected as a recipient of numerous international/national honors and awards, including the Member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences-USA, Fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Fellow of the Society for Cryobiology with the Basil J. Luyet Medal, American Heart Association Award, American Cancer Society Award, Asian American Engineer of the Year Award, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Global Health Research Award, Whitaker Foundation Young Investigator Award, Washington Foundation Innovation Award, and the International Society for Biological and Environmental Repositories (ISBER) Special Service Award.

Share this post:

Comments on "Dayong Gao Elected ISBER President"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment