About Cryobiology 

Cryobiology: International Journal of Low Temperature Biology and Medicine is the official journal of the Society for Cryobiology.
The journal is published in 6 issues annually by Elsevier and contains research articles on all aspects of low temperature biology and medicine including:

  • Preservation of cells and tissues for purposes of long-term storage
  • Cryosurgery - a minimally invasive approach for destruction of unhealthy tissue
  • Lyophilization (freeze-drying) of pharmaceuticals
  • The study of cold-adaptation of plants and animal
  • Frost hardiness in plants
  • Hibernation
  • Hypothermia
  • Medical applications of reduced temperature
  • Perfusion of organs for transplant surgery
  • Cryoprotective additives and their pharmacological actions
  • All pertinent methodologies

Publish in Cryobiology

Read the Guide for Authors before submitting your manuscript.

Submit your manuscript for publication at https://www.journals.elsevier.com/cryobiology

Publication Fees 

There is no page charge for publishing in Cryobiology. 

The open access fee for Cryobiology is $3,560 USD + tax. 

Color images printed in the hard copy journal are subject to an additional fee, invoiced directly by Elsevier. 


Read Cryobiology

Electronic full text access of every issue of Cryobiology, from 1995 through to the current issue, is available to all members of the Society for Cryobiology free of charge. To set up your member account please follow these instructions. 

Print subscriptions are available exclusively to members of the Society for Cryobiology. 


Editors and Editorial Board 


Janet A.W. Elliott
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Associate Editors

Kelvin G.M. Brockbank
Charleston, South Carolina, U.S.A.

Barbara Reed
Philomath, Oregon, United States


Nucharin Songsasen
Front Royal, Virginia, U.S.A.

Willem Wolkers 
Hannover, Germany

Editorial Board

Jason Acker
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Daniel Ballesteros
Valencia, Spain

John Bischof
Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S.A.

Mustafa Numan Bucak
Konya, Turkey

Thomas A. Churchill
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

John H. Crowe

Davis, California, U.S.A. 

Cristina Cuello
Murcia, Spain

Ram Devireddy
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, U.S.A. 

John G. Duman
Notre Dame, Indiana, U.S.A.

Gloria D. Elliott
Charlotte, North Carolina, U.S.A.

Ali Eroglu
Augusta, Georgia, U.S.A.

Seizo Fujikawa
Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan

Barry J. Fuller
London, United Kingdom

Dayong Gao
Seattle, Washington, U.S.A.

Mary Hagedorn
Washington, D.C., U.S.A.

Adam Z. Higgins
Corvallis, Oregon, U.S.A.

William Holt
London, United Kingdom

Tamotsu Hoshino
Tokyo, Japan

Charles Hunt
Cambridge, United Kingdom

Jens O.M. Karlsson
Villanova, Pennsylvania, U.S.A.

Lilia Kuleshova
Hannover, Germany

Franz Lahnsteiner
Mondsee, Austria

Juergen Liebermann
Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A.

Jane Morrell
Uppsalla, Sweden

Steven F. Mullen
Bloomington, Indiana, U.S.A

Estefania Paredes
Vigo, Spain.

Ursula Rauen
Essen, Germany

Paul S. Rooney
Liverpool, United Kingdom

Raúl Sánchez Gutiérrez
Temuco, Chile

Julian Santiago-Moreno
Madrid, Spain 

Jillian M. Shaw
Ashwood, Victoria, Australia

Wendell Q. Sun
Shanghai, China

Michael J. Taylor
North Charleston, South Carolina,

Mehmet Toner
Boston, Massachusetts, U.S.A.

Brian Wowk
Fontana, California, U.S.A.

Marc Yeste 
Girona, Spain


Cryobiology published its first issue in 1964, the year the Society for Cryobiology was founded. Throughout its almost 60 year history the journal has been led by only six editors. 

2022 - current: Janet A.W. Elliott
2011 - 2021: David M. Rawson
1994 - 2011: David E. Pegg
1972 - 1994: Arthur W. Rowe
1970 - 1972: Joseph A. Panuska
1964 - 1970: Theodore I. Malinin