Arthur W. Rowe Best Paper Award

In 2018, the Society for Cryobiology established the Arthur W. Rowe Best Paper Award, to recognize the most outstanding paper published annually in Cryobiology. The award is named for founding member of the Society, Arthur W. Rowe. 
Dr. Rowe is Professor of Forensic Medicine at the New York University Medical Center, former Investigator and Director of Cryobiology at the New York Blood Center, and former adjunct Professor of Biology at SUNY, Binghamton. He obtained his B.A. degree in Biology and Chemistry from Duke University and his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Rutgers University. His principal research interests have been in cryopreservation of formed elements of blood, primarily red cells, leukocytes, and platelets. He has recently been involved in research on hemopoietic stem cells from cord blood, peripheral blood progenitor cells, and mesenchymal cells extracted from fat tissue. He has also published over 200 papers and scientific communications. Dr. Rowe is a pioneering member of the Society for Cryobiology and has served in many capacities including President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Member of the Board of Governors. He was Abstract Editor of the journal Cryobiology from 1964 to 1969, Associate Editor from 1969 to 1972, and Editor-in-Chief from 1971 to 1995. He was elected by his peers to the position of Fellow of the Society for Cryobiology and was awarded the prestigious Basil J. Luyet Medal by the Society for outstanding contributions to the science and practice of Cryobiology.

During his 24-year tenure as its Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Rowe turned Cryobiology from a fledgling, self-published journal into an internationally acclaimed, professionally published journal with an outstanding scientific reputation and high impact rating. His strict fiscal management is responsible for making the Journal financially solvent, leaving the Society with substantial monetary reserves upon his retirement as Editor-in-Chief. Cryobiology continues to be an outstanding scientific journal. In 2018 he was honored by the Society which created the eponymous yearly award, “Arthur W. Rowe Award for Best Paper in the Journal Cryobiology.”

To recognize and publicize outstanding research published in Cryobiology.
No application required. All papers published in Cryobiology during the calendar year are automatically considered for the award. The Cryobiology editorial board reviews the papers annually and selects a winner. 

The corresponding author of the winning paper will be invited to attend the Society's Annual Meeting as an invited guest to deliver a lecture on their winning research. They will also receive be presented with a plaque during the awards session.  

Arthur W. Rowe Best Paper Award Winners

 Image coming soon

2020 Winner
Volume 86February 2019, Pages 95-102. 

James R.Cypsera, Wallace S.Chickbc, Gregory M. Fahyd, Garrett J.Schumachera, Thomas E.Johnson*ae

Institute for Behavioral Genetics, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
bDepartment of Cell and Developmental Biology, University of Colorado Denver, Aurora, CO, USA
cCharles C. Gates Center for Regenerative Medicine, University of Colorado Denver, Aurora, CO, USA
d21st Century Medicine, Inc., Fontana, CA, USA
eDepartment of Integrative Physiology, University of Colorado Boulder, USA


Dayong Gao, Arthur W. Rowe, James Benson
CRYO2019 Awards Banquet, July 25, 2019
2019 Winner
Volume 80February 2018, Pages 144-155

James D.Benson*a, Adam Z. Higginsb, KunjanDesaic, AliErogluc

Department of Biology, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
School of Chemical, Biological and Environmental Engineering, Oregon State University, USA
Department of Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine, Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University, USA