Society for Cryobiology

2014 Society Election

The 2014 SfC election has opened for voting.  This year's election is to being held to elect three members of the Society to the Board of Governors for a three year term, commencing January 2015 until December 2017.

Voting will close on December 1, 2014 and late votes cannot be counted. 

To download a ballot form and candidate statements click read more, below.



The Society for Cryobiology invite you to participate in Cryo2015, the 52nd annual meeting of the Society for Cryobiology, to be held in the Czech Republic in July 2015. 

Close to the Polish and Slovakian borders, Ostrava is the Czech Republic's third largest city, rich with industrial and political history.  It is sure to be a fascinating meeting location. 

When: 26th-29th July 2015
Where: Clarion Congress Hotel, Ostrava, Czech Republic. 
Abstract Deadline:
26th April, 2015 (Presentation)/26th May 2015 (Poster)


About the Society for Cryobiology

The Society for Cryobiology was founded in 1964 to bring together those from the biological, medical and physical sciences who have a common interest in the effect of low temperatures on biological systems. The Society currently has approximately 300 members from around the world. The purpose of the Society is to promote scientific research in low temperature biology, to improve scientific understanding in this field, and to disseminate and apply this knowledge to the benefit of mankind. The Society requires of all its members the highest ethical and scientific standards in the performance of their professional activities.


What is Cryobiology?

The word cryobiology literally signifies the science of life at icy temperatures. In practice, this field comprises the study of any biological material or system (e.g., proteins, cells, tissues, and organs, insects, seeds or plant embryos) subjected to any temperature below their normal range (from moderate hypothermia or over-wintering conditions, down to deep cryogenic temperatures).

<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 2