• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 32947814

2018 Election

2018 Election

2018 Election Candidates
Top: John G. Baust, Rob Ben, Ali Eroglu
Botton: Xiaoming "Shawn" He, Peter Kilbride, Estefania Paredes, Gang Zhao

This year's Society for Cryobiology election will be held October 15-29, 2018.  The election is for three Governor-at-Large positions for a three year term, commencing January 2019 and ending December 2021.


Meet the candidates

  • John G. Baust, Institute of Arctic Biology, University of Alaska, United States
  • Rob Ben, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Ali Eroglu, Augusta University, GA, United States
  • Xiaoming He, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, United States
  • Peter Kilbride, Asymptote Ltd., Part of GE Healthcare, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Estefania Paredes, University of Vigo, Spain
  • Gang Zhao, University of Science and Technology of China, China

Changes to Voting System
As outlined in the December 2017 revision to the Society for Cryobiology’s bylaws, the Society has moved to block voting for Governors. The following excerpt is taken from the bylaws:

“Because multiple nominees for each Governor’s position may be identified by the Nominating Committee, a block voting method will be employed to determine the winning candidates for Governor.  Each voting member is given 100 points.  Members choose how to vote those points.  A voting member could give one candidate all 100 points, or divide points among the candidates.  All candidates are then listed and selected by most point total.”

How to Vote
All current members of the Society will receive an email containing their personalized voting link before the election opens. No log in is necessary as each personalized link provides you with a one time use election ballot. Please check your ballot carefully before you submit as you are not able to edit your vote once it has been submitted. If you have not received your voting link by the time the election has opened please check your spam/junk email folder and then contact 
Nicole Evans.

Share this post:

Comments on "2018 Election"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment